Sunday, November 20 - Halifax
forum banner

2022 Halifax International Security Forum

November 18-20, 2022

Halifax, Nova Scotia



Sunday, November 20



with General Wayne Eyre, Chief of the Defence Staff, Canadian Armed Forces


Breakfast SessionsOFF THE RECORD

Canada’s Quiet Tech Triumphs

  • LOCATION: Elements
  • SPEAKERS: Mr. Ajay Agrawal, Founder, Creative Destruction Labs; Mr. Chris Hadfield, President,Chris Hadfield Inc.; Mr. John Risley, Chair of the Board CFFI Ventures Inc.; Dr. Janice Stein, Chair, HFX Board of Directors
  • MODERATOR: Ms. Adrienne Arsenault, Chief Correspondent, CBC News; Host, The National, CBC TV

Wartime Ready: Rearming Our Allied Economies

  • LOCATION: Harbour B
  • SPEAKERS: General Wayne Eyre, Chief of the Defence Staff, Canadian Armed Forces; Mr. Eric Fanning, President, Aerospace Industries Association, United States; Ms. Beth McGrath, Managing Director, Government and Public Services, Deloitte; Mr. Paul McLeary, Defense Reporter, POLITICO
  • MODERATOR: Ms. Luiza Savage, Executive Editor, Growth, POLITICO

Wonder Weapon: Ukraine’s Women

  • LOCATION: Atlantic Ballroom
  • SPEAKERS: Ms. Daria Kaleniuk, Anti-Corruption Action Centre, International Centre for Ukrainian Victory; Ambassador Yuliia Kovaliv, Ambassador of Ukraine to Canada; Ms. Yuliia Paevska,
    Founder, Taira’s Angels; Deputy Prime Minister Olga Stefanishyna, European and Euro-Atlantic Integration of Ukraine; Yuliia Mykytenko, Senior Lieutenant, Armed Forces of Ukraine
  • MODERATOR: Ms. Jacqueline O’Neill, Ambassador, Women, Peace and Security, Global Affairs Canada



WITH: Mr. Petro Poroshenko – 5th President of Ukraine; Mr. Nick Schifrin – Foreign Affairs and Defense Correspondent – PBS NewsHour

img repeaters

MODERATOR Mr. Nick Schifrin

Foreign Affairs and Defense Correspondent, PBS NewsHour

img repeaters

Mr. Petro Poroshenko

5th President of Ukraine


Plenary 7: H 2 O: Heatwave 2 OverflowON THE RECORD


img repeaters

MODERATOR Mr. Jamie Coomarasamy

Senior Presenter, BBC Radio and World Service

img repeaters

Mr. Mark Hetfield

President & CEO, HIAS

img repeaters

Ms. Melanie Nadeau

Chief Executive Officer, COVE, Canada

img repeaters

Ms. Dalia Ziada

Chairperson, Liberal Democracy Institute


Coffee Break


Plenary 8: The Future of Democracy? Democracy. — ON THE RECORD


img repeaters

MODERATOR Mr. Kenneth Wollack

Chairman, National Endowment for Democracy

img repeaters

Secretary General Luis Almagro

Secretary General, Organization of American States

img repeaters

Ms. Hanna Hopko

Chairwoman, Democracy in Action Conference, Ukraine

img repeaters

Ms. Tawakkol Karman

Nobel Peace Prize Laureate, Yemen;

img repeaters

Mr. Lassina Zerbo

Former Prime Minister of Burkina Faso; Chairman of the Executive Advisory Board for Africa, NANO Nuclear


Closing Lunch
LOCATION: Atlantic Ballroom